Fiction

He won’t reply because…

It’s been a year since I wrote the farewell message to you. Just a year ago, we were working together. And I used to annoy you with all my stupid questions and my partial blindness. Time no longer flies like an arrow. It flies like sunlight. Thanks a lot for staying in touch. And an even bigger thank you for still letting me badger you with all my silly requests. Thank you for meeting with me whenever I asked. Anyway, it has started raining again. You must be relieved that I am going away.

Looking back at this one-year journey, I think we shared more things than we did in the years when we were living together. This year was more happening. It challenged the status quo. It changed a lot of dynamics and catalyzed so many processes. I am sorry that you didn’t have anything good happening after retirement. It was, however, a lucky time for me. I got to know you a little more. I find you a very genuine and adorable person. You inspire me in so many ways.

You now already know that I am scared of dogs. I sometimes even change my path if a dog is out there and I am alone. Every cloud has a silver lining. I believe that these dogs are equally responsible for these feelings. And I am grateful to them. Without them, I would have never reached out for your hand. And I would have never realized that I don’t want to let it go. 

I am again reaching out to you because I am stuck. I am stuck on you. I am sorry if it all sounds mawkish. I don’t know how else to share. And I don’t know if it is even required. I understand that it might not be an appropriate time, and I am afraid there will never be a suitable time in any possible future to share this. You tell me what to do? If you ask me to stop feeling this way, I promise I will try my best to bury it all. But I am sorry, I can’t undo it. I have tried hundreds of times to move on from you. But I have failed thousands of times. Instead, I have fallen for you millions of times.